About Me v1.0

See next version of this “About Me” here


Right: this is not my resume, but I think you all deserve some explanation on who’s writing this blog and why.

My name is Ismael Peña and we struggle everyday trying to keep UOC Cooperation, the UOC’s programme for cooperation for development and volunteering, a useful thing for those engaged with development with the help of Information and Communication Technologies.

I landed in UOC Cooperation in 2001 and, since then:

  • we’ve set up e-learning projects in the fields of advocacy, nonprofits personnel training and capacitation for development, including the implementation of learning management systems (LMS) and all the training for (e-)trainers required to rule the projects
  • we’ve built up intranets that have been used by NGOs, foundations, etc. to manage their own organizations and projects, define strategic plans, discuss all kinds of subjects in the whole spectrum of depth
  • we’ve made web site projects dealing with non-profit projects fundraising, human rights sensibilization, etc.
  • we made it all with the invaluable help of online volunteers whom we trained and coordinated… and then became independent and worked on their own
  • and, all in all, actions with the aim of easing the use of ICTs for the third sector and spread the word ;) of how these technologies can change the way we work and see the world

As our corporate site just shows our final results (specially the catalan and spanish versions) and not what I have learnt in the way, this blog is intended to share with all of you the knowledge I might have gathered these last years and the thoughts this might have suggested.

I’ve done speeches about these subjects in some cities in Spain (Barcelona, Madrid, Sevilla…), Bonn (Germany, at the United Nations Volunteers headquarters – the people there were so G.R.E.A.T.!), San Pedro Sula (Honduras) and Olympia (Greece – in fact, this was before I entered the University).

I’ve also written some articles I’ll try to (re)publish (translated or in the original language) here.

I live near Barcelona. I speak Catalan and Spanish (mother tongues – bilingual, yes), English, French, German (just a bit – ein bißchen Deutch, my favourite answer when asked ;) and now I’m into had to leave Arabic because of the doctorate (wish me luck and patience – I really enjoy it!). I paraglide and play tenor sax – not at the same time (yet).

Of course, this blog expresses my opinion and not necessary UOC Cooperation’s nor UOC’s.

Feel free to contact me by using this form.