Taxonomy of Collaborative E-Learning

I’ve known about Janet E. Salmons’s Taxonomy of Collaborative E-Learning. In a very simple but very very illustrative chart she points five levels of collaboration in an e-learning activity

  • Dialogue
  • Peer review
  • Parallel
  • Sequential
  • Synergistic

each one involving more or less exchange of ideas between learners, including how this exchange happens in time.

Talked yesterday with Janet by VoIP: the taxonomy is about trainers, not students. Shame on me…

I think I’ll use just the same taxonomy but on the other side of e-learning: in the teachers’ side. I know in most training projects (virtual or offline) there usually is one and only one teacher. But in e-learning for development (above all in our experience) collusion of different e-teachers is becoming a must, especially when these e-teachers are online volunteers.

Taxonomy of Collaborative E-Learning 1.0 (433 Kb)


If you need to cite this article in a formal way (i.e. for bibliographical purposes) I dare suggest:

Peña-López, I. (2005) “Taxonomy of Collaborative E-Learning” In ICTlogy, #16, January 2005. Barcelona: ICTlogy.
Retrieved month dd, yyyy from

Previous post: Moving

Next post: Sofia Open Content Initiative

2 Comments to “Taxonomy of Collaborative E-Learning” »

  1. Thanks for posting! I am trying to contact you to confirm a time to discuss these ideas– but email is not going through. Can we meet 1/28 (tomorrow) at GMT15:00?

  2. Janet,

    I’m terrible sorry about these bouncing e-mails. I moved to a new hosting server and I guess there must be some DNS problems in the impasse.

    Nevertheless, I got your e-mails, all of them :PPP

    I will meet you at GMT15:00 and have three hours for your interview.
    Hope we do finally meet :)

RSS feed RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Your comment: