Internet and Society

By Ismael Peña-López
ICTlogy (ISSN 1886-5208). Issue #18, March 2005

 

Today I had a meeting with Carlota Franco (Fundación Chandra), Xavier Capdevila and Guillermo Rojo (Fundació Fias), David Corominas (Red con Voz) and Eduardo Sánchez (Ingeniería Sin Fronteras).

We’re trying to organize the II Conference on Internet and Solidarity (more info soon) and in the course of the meeting four force ideas arose (first three by Eduardo, last on by David):

  • Technology must be at society’s service (not the contrary)
  • Universal access to technology/Internet is desirable
  • (Universal) access is a right (not charity)
  • Territories are socially builded; thus, they must be socially managed

Second and third points might seem the same, but are not: second one deals with access itself, but not the means of this access; third point deals with the (political, conceptual) means.

Fourth point deals with all kinds of territories, including virtual ones.

If you need to cite this article in a formal way (i.e. for bibliographical purposes) I dare suggest:

Peña-López, I. (2005) “Internet and Society” In ICTlogy, #18, March 2005. Barcelona: ICTlogy.
Retrieved month dd, yyyy from http://ictlogy.net/review/?p=247

Human Development Report research tools

By Ismael Peña-López
ICTlogy (ISSN 1886-5208). Issue #18, March 2005

 

Reading a post by Ethan Zuckerman I’ve found a terrific tool I hadn’t heard of.

The Human Development Report search tools let you build your own table by chosing the countries, data, etc. you want, crossing them they way you want and exporting them in CSV files or other spreadsheet formats. Impressive, really impressive. I wonder if I’ll ever overcome my deepest ignorance :P

Some highlights/bookmarks of the information there:

This finding will be very useful :) :) :)

If you need to cite this article in a formal way (i.e. for bibliographical purposes) I dare suggest:

Peña-López, I. (2005) “Human Development Report research tools” In ICTlogy, #18, March 2005. Barcelona: ICTlogy.
Retrieved month dd, yyyy from http://ictlogy.net/review/?p=241

5 Online Resources Repositories

By Ismael Peña-López
ICTlogy (ISSN 1886-5208). Issue #-24045,

 

A study of 5 digital libraries in elearningeuropa.info: Online Resources Repositories for Distance Learning I found reading Ray Schroeder.

I have a deep dilemma: when I find information like this one, what do I do?

  • Bookmark the article?
  • Bookmark every single learning object repository (even if it sometimes is not exactly a repository) in the article?
  • Keep a list of gateways or repositories of repositories?
  • Bookmark a Google search by e-learning objects repositories?
  • Or just keep a list (whatever method) of ICT4D learning objects, which is my area of interest?
  • I have to write down what I understand by “ICT4D learning objects” and start having a criterion of my own…

If you need to cite this article in a formal way (i.e. for bibliographical purposes) I dare suggest:

Peña-López, I. (2005) “5 Online Resources Repositories” In ICTlogy, #18, March 2005. Barcelona: ICTlogy.
Retrieved month dd, yyyy from http://ictlogy.net/review/?p=240

Free Software for Nonprofits

By Ismael Peña-López
ICTlogy (ISSN 1886-5208). Issue #-24045,

 

Katrin Verclas has a very good post about the use of free software in nonprofits. While the post is entitled Non-Profit Use of Open Source, as it mainly deals with the free software philosophy, I’d rather re-entitle it that way – if Richard Stallman ever reads this, I’ll surely make his day ;)

Katrin’s post has its origins in some musings around the NOSI Open Source Primer for Nonprofits, but then adds plenty of resources dealing with Free Software and Open Source solutions that nonprofits can use to enhance their capacity.

Worth bookmarking it :)

If you need to cite this article in a formal way (i.e. for bibliographical purposes) I dare suggest:

Peña-López, I. (2005) “Free Software for Nonprofits” In ICTlogy, #18, March 2005. Barcelona: ICTlogy.
Retrieved month dd, yyyy from http://ictlogy.net/review/?p=239

ICT4D.ph

By Ismael Peña-López
ICTlogy (ISSN 1886-5208). Issue #18, March 2005

 

Learning from Information and Communication Technology for Development (ICT4D) Research to Enhance Policymaking ( Philippines )” is a joint project of the Department of Science and technology (DOST) and the International Development Research Centre (IDRC) of Canada . The project aims to identify the transformational impact of ICT on Philippine society and from the learnings distilled from the different ICT4D projects undertaken, transform these learnings into policies and actions

Nevertheless, their Resource Center is full with good resouces not only related to Philipines.

If you need to cite this article in a formal way (i.e. for bibliographical purposes) I dare suggest:

Peña-López, I. (2005) “ICT4D.ph” In ICTlogy, #18, March 2005. Barcelona: ICTlogy.
Retrieved month dd, yyyy from http://ictlogy.net/review/?p=238

Health Care opencoursewared

By Ismael Peña-López
ICTlogy (ISSN 1886-5208). Issue #-24045,

 

The Johns Hopkins Bloomberg School of Public Health is pleased to welcome you to the initial phase of its pilot OpenCourseWare (OCW) project, providing free and open access to the School’s most popular courses to students, self learners, and educators anywhere in the world. […]

[…] As part of its mission to protect health and prevent disease and disability, the School feels a moral imperative to provide equal and open access to information and knowledge about the obstacles to the public’s health and their potential solutions.

[via Stephen]

If you need to cite this article in a formal way (i.e. for bibliographical purposes) I dare suggest:

Peña-López, I. (2005) “Health Care opencoursewared” In ICTlogy, #18, March 2005. Barcelona: ICTlogy.
Retrieved month dd, yyyy from http://ictlogy.net/review/?p=237

ICTlogy Review

  • ISSN 1886-5208

Issues:

About Me

    I am Ismael Peña-López.

    I am professor at the School of Law and Political Science of the Open University of Catalonia, and researcher at the Internet Interdisciplinary Institute and the eLearn Center of that university. I am also the director of the Open Innovation project at Fundació Jaume Bofill.